Workspace concept and recovering old files

All projects and files created with SmartPLS are always located in a folder on the user's computer. We call this folder "Workspace".

The location of the current workspace is displayed in the title bar.

Recover old files

After a new installation of SmartPLS, a new, empty workspace may be created. Old files and projects are not lost - only the old workspace has to be selected again.

To select a different workspaces you can open > File > Switch Workspace from the main menu.

The default workspace location is in the User Home directory:

  • Mac OSX: /Users/username/smartpls_workspace
  • Windows: c:\users\username\smartpls_workspace